Board Members

The Maryland International Education Consortium Board Members


President: Dr. Saleha Suleman

Dr. Saleha Suleman is the Assistant Vice-President for International Initiatives at Towson University. She serves as the President of MIEC.

Heidi Cropped.png

Vice President: Heidi Russell- Kalkofen

Heidi Russell-Kalkofen is the International Student Coordinator at Montgomery College and serves as Vice President for MIEC.

Margo Headshot.png

Secretary: Margo Cunniffe

Margo Cunniffe is the Director of International Education at Notre Dame of Maryland and serves as the Secretary for MIEC.

Nellie Cropped.png

Treasurer: Nellie Pharr-Maletta

Nellie Pharr-Maletta serves as the PDSO and Assistant Director of International Student Services at CCBC. She serves as the Treasurer for MIEC. 

Mark headshot.jpg

Mark Bladel

Mark Bladel is the Assistant Director of International Admissions for Goucher College. Mark serves on the Board and on the Recruitment Subcommittee for MIEC.

Brian Stiegler.png

Dr. Brian Stiegler

Dr. Brian Stiegler is the Director of the Center for International Education and Associate Professor of Spanish at Salisbury University. Dr. Stiegler serves on the Board of MIEC.

Karen Cropped.png

International Students and Scholars Liaison: Karen Sykes

Karen Sykes is the Associate Director of International Students at Goucher College. Ms. Sykes serves as the International Students and Scholars Liaison for MIEC.

de Wit.png

Study Abroad Liaison: Dr. Rebekah De Wit

Dr. Rebekah De Wit is the Director of Global Education at CCBC. Dr. De Wit serves as the Study Abroad Liaison for MIEC.


Government Liaison: Aisha Jones

Aisha Jones is a Senior International Trade Specialist with the US Commercial Service. A founding member of MIEC, Ms. Jones represents the policy and governmental outreach for MIEC.

Anna Headshot.png

Recruitment Liaison: Anna Wise

Anna Wise is the Associate Director of International Recruitment at Towson University. Ms. Wise serves as the Recruitment Liaison for MIEC and Study Maryland.